This Week — Getting to know the new people in our District

Bonjour Famille et Amis,

All is well here in Montpellier this week!

I have really enjoyed getting to know the new people who have joined our district this week, although it has been a little bit crazy. We got new sisters are here in a white-wash which means they are both new to the area, so it has been busy here getting them up to date on mission progress here!

Last week I sent out a bunch of letters and this week I am sending out more to people, so get excited! 🙂 Its hard to get to everyone, but the mail for me isn’t too expensive.

This week has been great! On Tuesday we actually had to fix the shower in our apartment, like we had to regrout and stuff like that. So we were able to do service… for us. It turned out well though.

This week we have actually done quite a bit of service for members which was a really awesome. The members really like us and we are working hard to grow the ward! We have a lot of appointments during the Christmas season this year, so all is well here 🙂

FRENCH!!

People have been complementing my french so much and it is awesome! It seems like I am actually really good for a blue (a new missionary)!   The other day a women thought I was foreign but not English foreign! 🙂 It is a really good sign. Then another women thought I was British which is actually a great compliment because British people seem to get the pronunciation down really well!  I am understanding almost everything that people say and I am getting faster at responding when they speak to me.

I am very excited to skype with family on Christmas this year! It will probably be just before 12 back home, but I should have more details for you next week. We are going to a super awesome members house and the president has approved us to watch a Disney movie in french with the members for Christmas. Now we just need to decide which one we want to watch.

This week we go back to Bordeaux for a Conference with half the mission.  There will be a great speaker and a special musical show by…….. pause for effect……… you are going to be really jealous…………… DAVID ARCHULETA. Yes, the guy who got second on American Idol about 4 years ago! He has returned from his mission in Chile and he is here to sing for us! It is super awesome to be able to hear from him.

We head to Bordeaux on Thursday afternoon and will be getting back Saturday evening just in time for the Christmas concert at the church here 🙂

Progress!!

Our amis here are doing ok,  however, some of them are being wierd and others are not keeping their engagements. We are faithfully searching for new amis here this week and I feel great about it!  Our ami E— is doing well, However, she is in Spain till after New Years, so we have to be patient and wait.

We did have an AMI Miracle this week.  My companion, Elder Adamson, had taught a Romanian girl before I got here. However, she has been having a lot of school finals and hasn’t been answering our calls. Then out of the blue as she was walking out of her last final she just called and said she wants to meet with us tomorrow!! THAT IS SUPER EXTRA COOL because when we were just in Lyon we picked up Romanian Book of Mormon’s.  We are super excited for that this week!

Unfortunately I forgot my camera today, but the other night we went our contacting in Centerville the town hall had a beautiful light show projected on it with music playing and It was so awesome!  We met a couple of amis there and picked up a waffle and watched the show.  The Christmas spirit is so strong here in town, I absolutely love it! The weather warmed up again – so it feels like april here. I do miss snow but spending Christmas in the Med isn’t too bad. I guess. 🙂 🙂

I had a really great study time this morning.  It actually goes along perfectly with a new Mormon Message that is called the Refiners Fire http://www.mormonchannel.org/video/mormon-messages?v=3897359657001

It is super interesting to think about trials and why we experience them in our lives here on earth.  There is a scripture in Zachariah 13 that talks about the Refiner it says:

 9 And I will bring the third part through the fire, and will refine them as silver is refined, and will try them as gold is tried: they shall call on my name, and I will hear them: I will say, It is my people: and they shall say, The Lord is my God.

and in Malachi it speaks about it more:

 2 But who may abide the day of his coming? and who shall stand when he appeareth? For he is like a refiner’s fire, and like fullers’ soap.

 3 And he shall sit as a refiner and purifier of silver: and he shall purify  and purge them as gold and silver, that they may offer unto the Lord an offering in righteousness.

The trails that we face here can be so strong and they are never easy.  They can hurt us and they can nearly kill us. However, we can choose that as we feel that pain we can be purged of our imperfections and become stronger and cleaner and pure through that fire of the great refiner.

Love you all!

Have a wonderful week 🙂

Elder Peterson

P.S. I had a really great time this week at Bleues Conference.  It was great to be able to see all my friends from the MTC and to just catch up on how they are all doing.

Bleues Conference
Bleues Conference
ComeBackConference2
Lunch time and visiting with other MTC friends at Bleues Conference I had a really great study time this morning.  It actually goes along perfectly with a new Mormon Message that is called the Refiners Fire I had a really great study time this morning.  It actually goes along perfectly with a new Mormon Message that is called the Refiners Fire

Leave a Reply

