Busy Week with Transfers and a New Companion … Growing the Gospel in Montpellier

This week has been great! However, a lot of things have happened! I will try to remember them all, but I just changed to a new planner and I dont have the one from this past week!

It was a great week here and It was my last week with my trainer. “DAD” Elder Adamson is being transferred to a new area and I am getting a new companion! More on that later.

Throughout this week worked extensively with members because transfers are coming up and there is a great probability of Elder Adamsons’ leaving the area. (He has been here for 8 months and is kind of a fixture here) :). So Tuesday morning I made a bunch of cookies to give to members here and then we spent the day sharing a little gospel message and giving out cookies! It was very nice to be able to see a number of members in one day!

This week we met with some of our amis and one of them took us out to lunch at a very nice restaurant! It was amazing and she is so very nice! I will refer to her as “P”. She is from Albania and is a really cool person. She is here in Montpellier working on her Masters Degree. She speaks French, English, Italian, Albanian and I think German also! It seems like everyone we meet that is from outside of France speaks 3 or 4 languages! This is so cool!

Then we went to the Gare and meet some Missionaries that came down to do a Baptismal interview with one of the amis of the other set of Elders here in Montpellier. However, while we were waiting in the Gare, a group of friends that were music majors from Luxembourg were playing the piano and singing! It was a really cool experience, I felt like I was in the movie Pitch perfect! 🙂

Some other interesting tidbits from this area – Did you know that the story of Beauty and the Beast was written about Carcisone castle? It is only about 40 minutes from here by train! I got the opportunity to see it when we went to Boardeux. Carcisone is a little walled city and that has a really cool castle in the middle! I loved learning that this was based on a French story. I also learned that stories “The Princess and the Pea” and “Sleeping beauty” were also based on French stories! Anyway I bet you are wondering how I learned these facts while on my mission. So it is because we read cartoons and children’s books in French when we work with the Children. This week when Elder Adamson was helping someone with their english homework, I was reading stories to some little children. 🙂

Transfer Calls!!!

We did another sleepover with the other elders, so we could all get our calls from the Mission Office the next Morning. We began getting texts from the other missionaries in the zone and every single companionship has changed this transfer!!!

This is crazy, Elder Adamson is going to Annmas which is just next to Geneva, it is the last town in France before Switzerland. It is in the alps and there is alot of snow! From the beach to the mountains — Have fun Elder Adamson 🙂

Meanwhile I will stay here in the on the French Riviera by the Mediterranean sea. My new companion comes in on the train in a few hours…………………….Elder Martinez-Gernados! Can’t wait to meet him, he is from Spain. I am getting a true European companion! I am excited! He speaks Spanish, English and French all really well! He only has 5 months left on his mission, which ends in June. He is an experienced missionary. The Lord has been preparing for this change and I know this because last couple weeks we have met/contacted alot of spanish speaking people! This is realllllly cool. Like always the Lord has a plan! This area of France is quite close to Spain so a lot of people speak Spanish as a second language. I am so stoked!

This past week we met a very solid contact who we will call “L”. She is very curious to learn more about the Church because she has quite a few Mormon Friends back in the Dominican Republic.

This last Saturday the other elders had a baptism. It was really amazing and spiritual and the best part was that we had a lot of amis come and watch. I am so thankful for this opportunity to help people learn more and progress and take these huge steps in their lives and to draw closer to their Heavenly Father.
It was an amazing day.

That night we taught English class and had a lot of students come! Then we did p90x with a group of 20 non-members at the church. It is really going well here in Montpellier!

Yesterday, we went to church and brought our Friend “L” and we had some other amis there too! It was awesome! Then we went to Soeur G’s house, she lives in a beautiful home in a stone village about 30 minutes away. We had lunch with her which was really an amazing time to be together like that! She just returned from a month long trip in the US to visit her children, since she was recently widowed. She had a great trip and then we had a fun afternoon together and played games and had a gâteau des roi (king cake) which is a cake that has a little figurine in it and whoever finds it is the King!

Last night we went to the family D’s for dinner and just had a great evening with them. We did a little scripture study and then had pizza!

It was a great end of the last week with my “DaD”.

This Morning i was reading in Psalms chapter 23

1 The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.
2 He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters.
3 He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.
4 Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff theycomfort me.
5 Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over.
6 Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the Lord for ever.

It is an amazing scripture about faith and how the Lord is always preparing the way for us. Even when we don’t know it. I would like you to read it and ponder that message.

I am so thankful for the Lord who helps me on my path each day as I have challenges, I always know the the Lord is with me.

I love you all so much!

Elder Peterson

2 thoughts on “Busy Week with Transfers and a New Companion … Growing the Gospel in Montpellier

  1. Psalm 23 was your Great Grandma Fifi’s (Furhmann) favorite bible verse. I have her bookmark from her bible with that verse in my vible. On of my favorites as well. God bless you Aaron. Love you and miss you. Auntie Ginger

    Like

Leave a Reply

