Transfers and a new Job for me!

Hello finally!

I hope you have all had a great couple of weeks! 🙂

Sorry for the lack of news last week, actually the last couple of weeks have been very, full of everything, really!

We are still on lockdown, for the most part, like before, we have to be
in the Apt by nightfall, unless we are with a member and they are able to bring us home.  We are not allowed to ride on underground transport, which is fine because there is not any in our sector.  We are only allowed to take intercity trains as of two days ago and they are limited to the use by District and Zone leaders, for exchanges.

So, like it is super, safety proof for us and we know that our mission President is inspired by the way he has handled things in these last
couple weeks.  Don’t worry – we are super safe, so I am happy, but BOY AM I TIRED!

Two weeks ago we had District meeting in Lyon for my last district meeting and they had  me make the whole outline by with prayer and study. The meeting was about the Worth of a soul and contained plenty of role plays and activities. It went really well. 🙂 It was probably one of the most spiritual experiences on my mission so far, truly helped me understand the value of each person in the eyes of God. 🙂

12244254_10207345012491007_4536564605956269087_o There is a photo from the district meeting with us all holding up the numbers, that is the number of our transfer! The craziest thing is how fast the time is flying here on my mission.  I don’t know how fast it is going for you back at home, but I am now in my tenth transfer of the 16 and it is almost my second Christmas here in France.
Last week on Friday morning we had received our transfer calls and I was told that I would be leaving Elder Battezzato and going to Aix-en-Provence to be Zone leader! OK, that is super crazy! I was sad to be leaving the people of Saint Etienne that I had so much come to love, but I guess that is all part of the adventure.
Some of the members wanted to do a Thanksgiving dinner before I left so we decided to do it on Sunday after church.  On Saturday, I cooked some stuffing and green bean casserole and gravy and some, of course, green jello with pineapple. 🙂 We went to a members house with the sisters and had a little party where everyone brought something and it turned out great. 🙂 We were all really able to have a taste of thanksgiving and experience a lot of joy and gratitude in the air.
On Monday,  I was off. We went to the Gare in Lyon and then in the afternoon, I went off to Marseilles and then up to Aix which is pronounced (x is eks) just like we say the letter (x) so it’s like eks_en_provence  and I got a little settled in.
The next day we had to go to Grenoble to get my visa renewed (It has been a year) so we took a train to Avignon and then took a car that was there up to Grenoble and then over to Lyon after my appt. IT WAS SO GREAT TO DRIVE AGAIN!  It has been over a year since I had driven, so it was amazing to get behind the wheel and drive for 4 hours. 🙂
image1-28
Sur du Pont d’Avignon
image2-21image1-27image2-20image1-26
On  Wednesday, we took a train back to Aix and did our shopping and cleaned up and unpacked, finally. 🙂  Then we had a corrdination meeting with the sisters about what we want to do with the Zone this transfer.  We made our transfer calender with all of the important dates and we got all of our exchanges planned out. 🙂 🙂
On Thursday, it was Thanksgiving, so we had another thanksgiving dinner but this time here in Aix! We had such a great time here at the church and people were very happy to have the American holiday to celebrate with us!
After dinner, we got all zone leader like and started doing exchanges! I did one with Elder Sumter from the Netherlands.  He is only in his second transfer in Avignon. we had a great exchange, even though we had 3 people not show up for lessons, We have come to learn that it was just the Lord preparing us for miracles.  We were able to do some contacting and go to the Christmas stroll, where a bunch of small businesses showcase their products.  It was great because we have recently been doing something presented by our President called Business contacting where we talk to business owners and get some good relations going because they are stable people and we always know where they are if they want to talk about the Gospel. 🙂 It was super great to do some of that and work with that younger Elder. He is such a great missionary and I have really felt humbled by this calling as Zone leader. I have been able to feel more love and been able to work on not judging people but loving and serving with them! We had a great time there.
The last couple days we have been playing basketball with some new Amis. One, we will call C, accepted a copy of the Book of Mormon today after a basketball game. 🙂
Life is great here, it’s been cold but it is always sunny here in the Provence, there are over 300 days of sunshine a year. 🙂
This week as I was studying, I fell upon a scripture that I absolutely love!
It is John 10:10
…I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly.
Our Lord came that we may all live, but not only just live, we have the possibility to live in abundance, which is such a beautiful image for me, the Lord wants us to succeed we were not created to fail. 🙂
Love you all,
Elder Peterson,
La mission Française de Lyon.
Leave a Reply

