Bonjour a tous ceux qui sont Beaux

Hello, everyone!

Wow, another great week flew by, I didn’t even feel it pass!

My current companion is pretty fixed in the idea that I am “old” in the mission and that I will be “Dying” soon! I have now been in Tarbes for nearly 6 months. I am expecting to be leaving here in two weeks. 😦  I love it here so much, it is a great place and the people are
incredible.

I had an interview over Skype with my mission president this week and he told me it is going to be really hard to leave Tarbes, I asked him how he knew and he said because he once had to do it, about 35 years ago, as a young elder he served here and he loved everything about it as well.  It holds a very special place in his heart and the same has happened to me. 🙂 I am so thankful for all the time I have had here and I cannot wait to hopefully be able to come back and visit in September at the end of my mission. For now, I am still here and the work is moving along just fine!

This week we got a new Ami and found some potential new Amis! It has been  great week! One of the best parts of the week is really seeing the Lords hand in our lives.

It is quite often that the plans we make don’t work out how we planned them, which is ok as long as we are in the right place at the right time 🙂

For example, this week we were going to ride our bikes about 6 kilometers south to visit a family living in a village, as we set off on the trail (we found a bike trail so we don’t need to bike on a busy, noisy road and it leads us right to the village) my back chain guide
broke off and went into the wheel and gets super bent out of shape…  There goes our plans… So I get off and try to bend it back to shape, but that doesn’t work.

We go and walk the bike to one of our Amis homes that was really close by, luckily they are home!

We get some pliers and work on it for a while but it was pretty pointless, our Ami offers to drive us home and so we put the bikes in the car and we are on our way home.  As I was looking out the window I suddenly make eye contact with a woman on the side of the road. She gives me a big smile as we pass by. I ask my companion if he saw what I saw and
he said yes… But we were not positive, but it looked like that woman we found in the gare a couple months ago. She had been baptized in Rwanda about a year ago and has been coming back to church. However, we thought she lived about an hour away in a village with her husband. Where we saw her walking was in Tarbes, right around the corner from our apt at the HOMELESS SHELTER… So we get out, and throw our bikes in our apt real fast and then get out to try to see if it was her, and sure enough, it was, she has been there for almost a month now but she has ashamed so she didn’t tell anyone, she needed help and felt alone. We called up, the Relief Society president and they got in contact to figure out the situation. Now she will be able to get the help she needs. I know it’s an answer to her prayers and her families prayers.

The Lord completely changed our plans and even had my bike break so that we could help her. She really needed this help and if we hadn’t seen her that day who knows what would have happened! I am so thankful for my Heavenly Father and I know that he loves all of his children and he listens to each and every prayer 🙂

We were able to visit with some of our Amis this week and I am so thankful for the Opportunity to be the Lords hands here in Tarbes.

All of the strikes are still happening throughout France with the supposed end date being next weekend but we shall see. 🙂 🙂 We are hoping we will be good for the 20th because there are a lot of missionaries going home and coming in this transfer!

I was able to share a little message with a lot of people about a tent… In the Doctrine and Covenants when the saints are being persecuted and going through all sorts of trials, Joseph Smith prayed saying “where is the tent that covers your hiding place” thinking that the Lord was hiding from the suffering prophet. In a talk from Henry Erying it says that God doesn’t put a tent to cover him, we put a tent and cover God, in things we do and maybe habits that we create, we are distancing ourselves from the blessings the lord is often trying to pour on our heads.

We really have a great and Loving Heavenly Father.

I love you all! Have a great week.

Elder Peterson,
La mission Française de Lyon.

One thought on “Bonjour a tous ceux qui sont Beaux

  1. Hi Elder!
    I wrote to you the other day asking about the address in Perpinyà of the LDS branch there.
    I would like to visit it next Sunday.
    Thanks for writing such an inspiring blog !!
    Hope you go on having a great time on your mission,
    Ian

    Like

Leave a Reply

