The Time is Flying By….

Bonjour a tous.

Donc cette semaine était très bien passé!

Last Monday for P-Day we went to Aix to celebrate the 4th of July, we went bowling and had a great time all together signing the National Anthem. 🙂

Then we got home and went to an American family’s home to spend the evening, we ate amazing potato salad, jello and hamburgers. It was so much like being at home in America, I loved it. 🙂 🙂

Can you believe I am 20 — Yes today is my Birthday!!!!! I have been on my mission just short of 2 years!

This week is a big celebration in France, on the 14th they celebrate Bastille Day.

We went back up to Aix on Wednesday night because I had to do a baptismal interview for an Ami of the Sisters. It was great. He is one of the most amazing people I have ever met, he is so spiritually prepared and he really does love the gospel. It was an honor to be able to do that interview and I am sure he will be strong in the church and be very blessed for his faith.

After the interview, I was able to visit with a member who I knew pretty well when I was serving in Aix, but given that I only spent 6 weeks there, we did not get to talk as much as we would’ve liked. She took us all to get Kebabs and then she got us ice cream. She is great and is a relatively recent convert, of about a year and a half. She is super sweet, she is like 50 years old and is like a really cool mom for the missionaries. I was so happy to spend some time with her.

Then the next morning, it was time for District meeting and I had to teach.  It went well, I chose to talk about the importance of member work and how we can gain the trust of members, notably in learning their language and culture to show that we actually care about them. I feel like a lot of the missionaries are content with just a small vocabulary at a couple of common expressions and few if any cultural references… I am not! I feel the need to really understand so that I can connect the French people.  This means understanding how they speak, why the speak about what they speak about, why they act certain ways and learn about their history. By doing these things I have been able to make a lot of friends and gain the trust of many.  When we establish this kind of connection we can show that we care and have a more positive impact when teaching the gospel. It was a good meeting.

We had our first game night (Soriee de jeux) this week and it went very well, we were about 15 people so it was fun and we plan on it growing to a larger group every week!

We did some other stuff and I don’t have much time but I want you all to know that I love you and I am praying for you!

Love,

Elder Peterson,
La mission Française de Lyon.

One thought on “The Time is Flying By….

  1. Sounds great !!
    Moi aussi j’adore la France.
    Although that American meal you mentioned is the icing on the cake, haha.
    I’m studying Matthew 25 lately, the parable of the Talents, inspiring! So much so, it’s become the basis for a novel i’m currently trying to finish.
    All the Best,
    Ian

    Like

Leave a Reply

